whichbackup Generators · Comparison

Inverter generators

Westinghouse iGen2550 vs Champion 2500 (2026): which should you buy?

The short answer

Plugging in an RV? Westinghouse

Want a CO shutoff? Champion

On numbers these are nearly twins: 1,900W vs 1,850W running, and 11 hr vs 11.5 at 1/4 load. What separates them is features and safety.

Best for RV hookups

Pick the Westinghouse iGen2550 if

  • You plug in an RV. The iGen2550 has a TT-30R on the panel.
  • You want USB ports. It has two. The Champion has a 12V socket instead.
  • Home backup is part of the plan. Westinghouse lists it as a use. Just remember there's no CO sensor on this model.
See current price on Amazon

Best if you want a CO shutoff

Pick the Champion 2500 if

  • You want a CO shutoff. Champion's CO Shield is built in, and Westinghouse lists no CO sensor for the iGen2550.
  • Every pound counts. It's 39.7 lb vs 42.4 to 43.2 lb.
  • You want a 12V automotive-style socket.
See current price on Amazon

Before you buy: Champion says its 2500 isn't meant for emergency home backup. The iGen2550 has no CO sensor, so it has to sit well away from the house. Westinghouse sells a separate iGen2550c with one.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Key specs

1Champion 2500
spec rows won
0Westinghouse iGen2550
spec rows won
14even or
unclear

Counted from the chart below: rows where one is clearly better. It's a tally, not an overall rating. The iGen2550's edges here, the RV outlet and USB ports, aren't scored as wins, so they don't show up in it.

Bold means one number is clearly better. Blank means it's a tie, it's close, the makers measured it differently, or the sources disagree. I only compare run times at the same load when it's fair, since 1/4 load on a bigger generator is more watts.

iGen2550 Champion 2500 Clearer
Starting watts (gasoline) 2,550W 2,500W
Running watts (gasoline) 1,900W 1,850W
Fuel Gasoline Gasoline
Gas tank 1.1 gal 1.05 gal
Run time at 1/4 load (gasoline) 11 hr at 1/4 load 11.5 hr at 1/4 load
Run time at 1/2 load (gasoline) 7 hr at 1/2 load Not published at this load
Noise (maker figure) 52 dBA ("as low as"; load not stated) 53 dBA from 23 ft (load not stated)
Weight 43.2 lb (spec table); 42.4 lb (description) 39.7 lb
Starting method Recoil Recoil
Outlets One 120V 20A duplex (5-20R), one TT-30R RV outlet, two USB One 120V 20A duplex (5-20R), one 12V DC, parallel ports
CO shutoff No (Westinghouse spec table) Yes (CO Shield) Champion 2500
Parallel capable Yes Yes, with an optional kit
Total harmonic distortion (maker) 3% or less Not published
Warranty 3 years residential; 1 year commercial 3 years limited
Engine 80cc 80cc
Note Champion's page says this unit is not recommended for emergency home backup

What it can run

Common things people plug in during an outage or at camp, checked against each generator's own gasoline ratings from the chart above: iGen2550 1,900W running and 2,550W starting, Champion 2500 1,850W running and 2,500W starting. I used the top of each range, so a smaller appliance may do better.

Load Running watts Starting watts iGen2550 Champion 2500
Full-size refrigerator 150–400W 800–1,200W Yes Yes
Freezer (chest or upright) 100–500W 500–1,000W Yes Yes
Sump pump, 1/3 HP 500–800W 1,000–1,600W Yes Yes
Sump pump, 1/2 HP 800–1,050W 1,300–2,150W One at a time One at a time
Gas furnace blower (1/2 HP fan) 300–800W 800–1,600W Yes Yes
Window AC, 5,000 BTU 450–600W 900–1,200W Yes Yes
Window AC, 10,000 BTU 900–1,200W 1,800–2,400W Tight Tight
RV rooftop AC, 13,500 BTU 1,500–2,000W 2,800–3,500W No No
CPAP (with heated humidifier) 60–120W No extra Yes Yes
Microwave 600–1,200W No extra One at a time One at a time
Coffee maker† 600–1,200W No extra One at a time One at a time
Space heater (1,500W setting) 750–1,500W No extra One at a time One at a time
Well pump, 1 HP 1,000–2,000W 2,000–4,000W No No
Circular saw, 7-1/4 in. 1,200–1,800W 2,400–3,600W No No
TV (32-55 in.) + router/modem 90–420W No extra Yes Yes
Phone/laptop charging 20–100W No extra Yes Yes
Electric water heater 3,000–4,500W No extra No No

Running a few things at once

Add up the running watts. Then take the one item with the biggest starting surge and add its starting watts to everything else's running watts. Both totals have to fit.

Outage basics: fridge + furnace blower + 5 LED bulbs + router

Running: 400 + 800 + 75 + 20 = 1,295W (iGen2550 68% of 1,900W · Champion 2500 70% of 1,850W)
Biggest start: furnace blower starting 1,600 + everything else running 400 + 75 + 20 = 2,095W (iGen2550 82% of 2,550W · Champion 2500 84% of 2,500W)

iGen2550 YesChampion 2500 Yes

Fridge + microwave

Running: 400 + 1,200 = 1,600W (iGen2550 84% of 1,900W · Champion 2500 86% of 1,850W)
Biggest start: fridge starting 1,200 + everything else running 1,200 = 2,400W (iGen2550 94% of 2,550W · Champion 2500 96% of 2,500W)

iGen2550 TightChampion 2500 Tight

Hot night camping: 5,000 BTU AC + CPAP + camp lights + phones

Running: 600 + 120 + 200 + 100 = 1,020W (iGen2550 54% of 1,900W · Champion 2500 55% of 1,850W)
Biggest start: 5,000 BTU AC starting 1,200 + everything else running 120 + 200 + 100 = 1,620W (iGen2550 64% of 2,550W · Champion 2500 65% of 2,500W)

iGen2550 YesChampion 2500 Yes

Notes and sources

These are typical figures. Check the label on your own appliance. It lists watts, or amps you can multiply by 120 to get watts.

Motors need starting watts. Fridges, freezers, pumps, furnace blowers and air conditioners pull a short surge each time they kick on, well above their running watts (see the Starting column). Heaters, coffee makers and chargers don't.

Running several loads adds up. If two motors start in the same second, both surges stack. Honda's own advice is to start the big ones one at a time.

RV air conditioners: a 13,500 BTU unit needs more starting watts than either generator has. A soft starter added to the AC is often what decides it. Micro-Air, which makes the EasyStart, says it cuts startup current by up to 75%. Even then, leave the fridge and other big loads off.

Outlets: Neither generator lists a 240V outlet in the chart above, so anything that needs 240V is out. Check your appliance's label. The iGen2550 has a 30A RV outlet (TT-30R). Running watts still cap the total, whichever outlet you use.

Water heaters: If your water heater runs on 240V, neither unit can power it, since neither lists a 240V outlet. On watts alone it would be "No" on both.

Home backup: Champion's page says the Champion 2500 isn't recommended for emergency home backup.

Load watts: Champion Power Equipment, Generator Wattage Chart. Champion makes the 2500, but the chart covers appliances, not generators. †Coffee maker: 600W for a 4-cup maker from Honda's wattage guide, and 1,200W from Generac's wattage worksheet. Microwave: the wattage on the box is usually cooking power. Honda's guide lists a 1,000W microwave at 1,500W from the outlet, which is "One at a time" on both. None of these charts list an 8,000 BTU window AC, so it falls between the 5,000 and 10,000 BTU rows. Start-up advice: Honda. Soft starter: Micro-Air.

Carbon monoxide

One thing before the details: both burn gasoline, so both put out carbon monoxide. Keep them outside, well away from doors, windows and vents, with the exhaust pointed away from the house. The Champion has a CO shutoff and the iGen2550 doesn't, so give the iGen2550 extra distance. Never in a garage, shed or on a porch.

Both are small enclosed gas inverters in the 2,500-watt-peak class.

Who should pick which

Get the Westinghouse iGen2550 if:

  • You plug in an RV. The iGen2550 has a TT-30R on the panel. On the Champion, an RV outlet isn't on the unit itself.
  • You want USB ports. The iGen2550 has two. The Champion has a 12V socket instead.
  • Home backup is part of the plan. Westinghouse lists it as a use and Champion says its 2500 isn't recommended for it. Just remember there's no CO sensor on this model.
See current price on Amazon

Get the Champion 2500-Watt Ultralight Inverter if:

  • You want a CO shutoff. Champion's CO Shield is built in, and Westinghouse's spec table lists no CO sensor for the iGen2550.
  • Every pound counts. It's 39.7 lb against 42.4 to 43.2 lb (Westinghouse gives both).
  • You want a 12V automotive-style socket.
See current price on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Skip it if

Skip the iGen2550

if a CO shutoff is a must. Westinghouse sells a separate iGen2550c with a CO sensor. This listing isn't that unit.

Skip the Champion 2500

if you need an RV outlet on the generator itself, or you're buying mainly for outages.

What owners report

These points come from owners posting on Reddit, owner forums and retailer reviews, not from my own testing. A point is listed only when at least three separate owners of this exact model said it. Individual units vary.

iGen2550

  • Owners describe it as quiet, though one says it's fairly loud outside Eco mode.
  • Most owners say it starts easily, including in cold weather; one says it takes a few hard pulls, especially on an immediate restart.

Sources: Amazon reviews, Reddit

Champion 2500

  • Owners describe it as quieter than other portable generators they've used.
  • Owners say it starts easily.

Sources: Amazon reviews

Questions about this pair

Which one is quieter?

Call it a tie. Westinghouse says "as low as 52 dBA" with no load stated. Champion says 53 dBA from 23 feet with no load stated.

Which one runs longer?

They're close: 11 hours at 1/4 load for the iGen2550 on 1.1 gallons, and 11.5 for the Champion on 1.05.

Does the iGen2550 have a CO sensor?

No, per Westinghouse's spec table for this model. The iGen2550c is the version with one.

What warranty do they have?

Both are 3 years. Westinghouse lists 3 years residential and 1 year commercial, and Champion lists a 3-year limited warranty.

Spec notes

Where the sources disagree on a spec:

  • Westinghouse iGen2550 tank: Westinghouse says 1.1 gal. The Amazon listing says 1.16 gal.
  • Westinghouse iGen2550: Westinghouse sells a separate iGen2550c with a CO sensor. The unit linked here is the iGen2550, which Westinghouse lists with no CO sensor.
  • Westinghouse iGen2550 weight: the spec table says 43.2 lb dry. The description on the same page says 42.4 lb.
  • Westinghouse iGen2550 parallel cord: the description says parallel cables are sold separately. The included-accessories line on the same page lists a parallel cord.
  • Champion 2500 tank: Champion lists 1.05 gal. The Amazon spec table says 1.1 gal.

Specs are from Westinghouse and Champion, checked October 8, 2026. Any line marked "Amazon listing" is not a maker figure.

Related comparisons

By Mike E. · Last checked October 8, 2026 · Based on manufacturer specs. Lines marked "Amazon listing" are from Amazon, not the maker.